Global Vision JTC Visit and GIS Day

It’s been a while since my last blog, but here goes another one! So much has happened since my last post, but two things of highlight were Global Vision’s Visit to The Telfer School of Management and University of Ottawa GIS day.

On October 30, Global Vision’s Junior Team Canada (JTC) made a visit to the University of Ottawa on their way to Iqaluit for the Regional Economic Roundtable (http://www.globalvision.ca/programs/regional-economic-round-tables/). Professor Lane and I had the opportunity to share some of the work C-Change has done with the youths. I write as if I’m a veteran in the field – but it was a neat opportunity to show those who may be interested in doing a masters degree the type of work I do.

We also made a pitch about the blog at the meeting for students to become more engaged and presented it as a means to empower youths. Members of JTC were fortunate enough to travel up north to discuss the issues related to a changing climate with members of the local community, a first hand experience. This is something that I hope we can all do more of, the changing environment affects us all in many different ways and truly is an international issue.

Check out some of the pictures from the visit!

Global Vision Junior Team Canada’s visit to the Telfer School of Management at the University of Ottawa.

November 20th was GIS Day at the University of Ottawa and also internationally (http://www.gisday.com/). I had the opportunity to present a poster a I made for the Intro to Geomatics course I’m auditing. I was give LiDAR data for Charlottetown a while back and was going to design a SLOSH model (http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/surge/slosh.php) basin for downtown Charlottetown with the help of Arthur Taylor from NOAA. Plans have changed since and my thesis took on a different direction – GIS Day ended up being a chance for me to show the type of work that can be done for Charlottetown to prepare for storm surges. Here’s a link to my poster for GIS Day (Predicting Storm Surge Levels in Coastal Communities – uOttawa GIS Day).

Alex, Rick Moll and Dan Lane at GIS Day

Leave a Reply

